Other Articles by The LAS Staff

Features

MUSIC

 » The Top 30 Albums of 2010 - Fashionably, fabulously late, our favorite music (and believe me, there was a LOT) of 2010, the year that some have called the best year for music ever. And only some of those fools work here. Plenty of usual suspects, lots of ties and a few surprises that I won't spoil, including our unexpected #1.
[12.24.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FESTIVALS

 » Migrating Forms 2010 - The former New York Underground Film Festival debuted as Migrating Forms in 2009. This is their second year around and they've got a full program at Anthology Film Archives in New York from May 14th to the 23rd.
[05.12.2010 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » Dres Prelude Remix - A Native Tongues Posse member and one half of Queens duo Black Sheep, Dres knows a thing or two about palling around. Now he has expanded his crew with a five-track remix album with fans, now available for download.
[04.16.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FIELD NOTES

 » Freecycle - For those taking part in traditional Spring Cleaning activities this season, a visit to this community-based free-goods network might be in order. Rather than simply throw out that old television or toss those unwanted plant seedlings into the compost, why not pass them on?
[04.14.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FESTIVALS

 » WIUX Culture Shock 2010 - WIUX, the Indiana University student radio station in Bloomington, has announced an intent to "rock Dunn Meadow all day long" with their "premier event," the Culture Shock festival on Saturday, April 17th.
[04.13.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FESTIVALS

 » Brussels Electronic Music Festival 2010 - Belgium: It's more than waffles. Especially this weekend, when the second edition of BEMF brings Belgium's capital "one big electro-fest for three whole days, with live performances and night-time DJ sets, as well as major seated concerts in the Henry Le Boeuf Hall."
[03.24.2010 by The LAS Staff]

ART & DESIGN

 » Slash Plus BackSlash Equals X - "On a superficial level," say the organizers of this one-day show in Cape Town, South Africa, the event "will provide a cacophony of audio and visual keywords that make one smile and move one's head." However on closer examination, they warn, much depth exists.
[03.22.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FIELD NOTES

 » Night Owl & Early Bird - We have been hearing a lot about art in Austin, Texas, recently. We're actually going to feature another exhibition at this very gallery on Monday, but first we just wanted to share the cute image for their second annual fundraiser.
[03.10.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FIELD NOTES

 » Not Knots 2010 - Think the knitting trend from the mid-00s has gone? Think again. This weekend the creatives at Cabinet magazine are turning their art space over to a new workshop on "knots, knitting, and string figures." Not only will attendees be given access to string, they'll be plied with twisted baked goods and tasty wine as well.
[03.04.2010 by The LAS Staff]

BIKE

 » North American Handmade Bicycle Show 2010 - This weekend the NAHBS rolls into Virginia with an assortment of bikes, riders, clothes, ideas, companies and yes, more bikes. Oh, and there'll be beer, too.
[02.25.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FIELD NOTES

 » Night of Pan - This Saturday will be the UK premiere of Los Angeles-based filmmaker Brian Butler's latest work, a seven and a half minute piece that includes performances by Butler, Kenneth Anger and Vincent Gallo.
[02.18.2010 by The LAS Staff]

FIELD NOTES

 » Art Of Zines 2010 - It has been almost three decades since an influential punk magazine from Michigan closed down (hint: they gave rise to an influential Chicago label of the same name that recently folded as well). Thankfully, as a new exhibition in California proves, the love of zines is alive and well.
[02.05.2010 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2009 Year-End Music Report [composite] - After a few middling years in music that were characterized by a few far-and-away bangers and a bunch of lackluster albums, this year follows on the example set in 2008 with a slew of great records to close out the decade. As per our usual December tradition, the LAS staff has tallied a collective Best Of list for albums.
[12.23.2009 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2000-2009: Albums of the Decade [composite] - Well, here we are. We counted them down over the course of a week, from Fifty to One. For better or worse, until death do us part, as a group these are the albums we held most dear over the past ten years. Let the complaining begin.
[10.23.2009 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2000-2009: Albums of the Decade [individual] - Individual staff picks for the best releases of 2000-2009, which we use to mathematically compile the composite 2000-2009 Top 50 Albums of the Decade list.
[10.22.2009 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2000-2009: Songs of the Decade - For a decade that saw the very notion of a "music industry" drastically reshaped (along with any sort of genre boundaries we might have imagined), it is little wonder that so much diverse music has endeared itself to the LAS staff. The notion of "best" is even more abritrary today than it was ten years ago, so here are some of our favorite songs from the past decade.
[10.16.2009 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2008 Year-End Music Report [composite] - Although 2007 wasn't all that bad, in general the past few years in music have been characterized by a few far-and-away bangers and a bunch of lackluster albums. 2008 changed all that, and as per our usual December tradition the LAS staff has tallied a collective Best Of list.
[12.19.2008 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2008 Year-End Music Report [individual A-M] - Through a simple mathamatical system of reverse scoring (#1 is worth 10 points, #10 worth 1 point), the year-end top ten picks of 22 current and former LAS staff writers were combined to produce a composite top 20. These are the individual lists, writers A-M.
[12.19.2008 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2008 Year-End Music Report [individual N-Z] - Yeah, yeah, you get the picture. Individual picks for the best releases of 2008, writers N-Z.
[12.19.2008 by The LAS Staff]

CINEMA

 » Best 2007 Films - Rounding out our coverage of film and DVD releases for the 2007 calendar year, LAS presents a collection of lists, composed by old and new staff writers alike, on some of the more notable film and DVD releases of the past twelve months.
[12.21.2007 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2007 Year-End Music Report [composite] - For whatever reason 2006 seemed like an off year for music, and if you weren't paying attention 2007 could have sounded like the year of Radiohead and nothing else. But when the smoke cleared this month and the LAS staff took stock of the year gone by, it was clear that 2007 was a solid year for sound.
[12.21.2007 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2007 Year-End Music Report [individual A-M] - Through a simple mathamatical system of reverse scoring (#1 is worth 10 points, #10 worth 1 point), the year-end top ten picks of 27 LAS staff writers were combined to produce a composite top 20. These are the individual lists, writers A-M.
[12.21.2007 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2007 Year-End Music Report [individual N-Z] - LAS staff year-end top ten picks for 2007, writers N-Z.
[12.21.2007 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2006 Year-End Music Report [composite] - Whereas 2005 held little promise in January yet wound up being a great year for music, this year began with a slew of fanfare for killer albums and wound up being a bit lackluster. LAS presents the 20 of 06.
[12.22.2006 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2006 Year-End Music Report [individual] - The Making of The List. Go behind the scenes of our best albums list and find out what our staff has been listening to over and over again. The individual staff lists.
[12.22.2006 by The LAS Staff]

CINEMA

 » Best 2006 Films - Lights! Camera! Clichés! With a somewhat unremarkable theatrical season behind us, the LAS staff takes a look back at some of our favorite films from 2006. Nothing fancy, just some lists. Enjoy!
[12.22.2006 by The LAS Staff]

LITERATURE

 » Best Print 2005 - Shunning their digital nature, members of the LAS staff name some of the best printed matter from the year 2005.
[01.10.2006 by The LAS Staff]

CINEMA

 » Best 2005 Films - From Jack Black to Jake Gyllenhaal and from real brown bears to fake black apes, LAS continues the look back at 2005 with a selection of staff members' most remarkable moviegoing experiences.
[01.03.2006 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2005 Year-End Music Report [composite] - Piracy protection, marketing and digital downloads may have dominated the year in music, but 2005 was more than just Rootkits, mySpaces and iPods - it was also a year of great music. LAS presents the 20 of 05.
[01.02.2006 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2005 Year-End Music Report [individual] - The Making of The List. Go behind the scenes of our best albums list and find out what our staff has been listening to over and over again. The individual staff lists.
[01.02.2006 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2005 Mid Year Music Report [composite] - Changing up our format, we have discarded the traditional composite weighted ranking system in favor of listing each of the albums that received top marks from our contributing writers.
[07.01.2005 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2005 Mid Year Music Report [individual] - Once your interest has been piqued by browsing each of our participating staff members' top picks, you're certainly going to want to know what else everyone has been listening to over and over again.
[07.01.2005 by The LAS Staff]

MEDIA

 » Best Print 2004 - Members of the LAS staff take a look back at some of the most inspiring and essential print matter from a year in which the printed word was highly obscured by online media.
[01.05.2005 by The LAS Staff]

CINEMA

 » Ten Films of 2004 - Face it, movies are way too expensive for anyone to see more than a handful. To come up with our composite list of 10 films to see we pooled our resources and found that, of the films we did manage to see, there was a clear favorite.
[01.03.2005 by The LAS Staff]

LIFE

 » Wintry Mix - With a good number of us skittering on ice, being glazed over by freezing rain or blanketed in snow, now is the perfect time to experience the cold of outdoors indoors with season-appropriate film, music and print.
[01.03.2005 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2004 Year-End Music Report [composite] - The past twelve months have been as eventful as any other in the world of music, with an extra flourish of protest songs and politicizing to coincide with the election year cycle in the US. After the dust settled on 2004, these are the 20 best albums in the eyes of the LAS staff.
[12.17.2004 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2004 Year-End Music Report [individual A-L] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our individual staff lists for 2004's best albums, writers A-N.
[12.17.2004 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2004 Year-End Music Report [individual M-Z] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our individual staff lists for 2004's best albums, writers M-Z.
[12.17.2004 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » A guide to Underground Post-Rock Comps. - Although it was probably the final nail in the coffin of respectability for the compilation album, the mid- to late-1990s underground post-rock era also produced some of the best pre-made mixes in the genre.
[12.02.2004 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2003 Year-End Music Report [individual A-M] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our individual staff lists for 2003's best albums, writers A-M.
[12.15.2003 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2003 Year-End Music Report [individual N-Z] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our individual staff lists for 2003's best albums, writers N-Z.
[12.15.2003 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2003 Year-End Music Report [composite] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our composite lists for 2003's best albums.
[12.15.2003 by The LAS Staff]

MAILBAG

 » March 2003 Letter of the Month - Neil Burkey gets an email full of less than inspiring remarks in response to a recent Duncan Sheik review.
[04.01.2003 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2002 Year-End Music Report [individual] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our individual staff lists for 2002's best albums.
[12.16.2002 by The LAS Staff]

MUSIC

 » 2002 Year-End Music Report [composite] - The LAS composite year-end Top 20 Albums list is compiled using a simple formula of reverse scoring - a 1st place vote is worth 10 points, down to a 10th place vote which is worth 1 point. Knowing that, take a look at our composite lists for 2002's best albums.
[12.16.2002 by The LAS Staff]
Reviews
»The Suburbs
Arcade Fire
Merge
»///Y/
M.I.A.
N.E.E.T.
»The Black And White Album
The Hives
Interscope